A Crazy Idea

cropped-recordcabinet1.jpg

The plan: To review every record in my collection.

The reason: Why the hell not?

I’ve had this idea rolling around in my head for a while now, but it seemed too ambitious, too unnecessary, and, quite possibly, too impossible. Ambitious because I own a lot of records, and my collection only multiplies year by year, so much so that the shelf in my cabinet recently collapsed (see photo above).

Unnecessary because, with all that’s going on in the world these days, with every awful thing that Trump and his terrible administration do on a daily basis, with cops and terrorists and madmen with guns killing innocent people, with the climate rapidly changing and heating us towards extinction while we don’t do enough to stop it, with continued, systemic problems like racism, sexism, prejudice, toxic masculinity, and the under-and-over-reactions from all sides, with all of our minute-by-minute social media updates keeping everyone on the cutting edge of every controversy that breaks out somewhere in the world, with all of this, who cares about my own little personal opinions and reflections on a collections of songs by other artists, many of whom are dead or forgotten about?

Impossible because, frankly, it seems like a project I may never finish.

And yet for all these reasons, for the utter audacious uselessness of such an endeavor, I’ve decided to do it. Maybe it’s for some of the same reasons I still like vinyl. It forces you to take your time, pay attention, listen song by song, and then flip the record halfway through. And the covers themselves, the front, back, sleeves, and inserts, are all little works of art you can ponder and ruminate on.

I fell in love with music at an early age, and the love affair continues to grow. It’s the closest way I know how to connect memories with emotions and vice-versa. They say that even people with senility or Alzheimer’s who’ve completely lost their power of recollection can have memories triggered by listening to old songs. While I’m a ways away from that state, I still don’t mind basking in nostalgia every now and then, and finding out what the music will bring up this time.

So, without further preamble, here goes: the first of what will be as close to a daily blog as I can muster. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

